Carrier

Correspondent

Old Letters

New Letters

Sat. Jan. 13, 2007 - 4:40 in the P.M.

My gravitation to non-fiction suits the rest of me - other places under my skin that also need plain words and clear facts - things that can be called upon to jog memories. In my places, prose is contained in old letters, speeches, and quotes. It's modern form is only necessary for love letters or to move along narratives and is often scarce. Implication and subtlety is for others; more sensitive and wiser people for whom knowledge is enough. Persons who can enjoy life without lists and plans and reading between lines. Persons whose skin doesn't quickly forget the sentiment of a well-placed touch. Persons whose lives and manners I will forever admire. More independence must be wonderful, but I'm tied to every little letter and I will always need some of the routines that distance and time often require.

Sincerely,
Previous & Next

p.s. Dispatches, elbow patches.