Carrier

Correspondent

Old Letters

New Letters

Sun. Jan. 07, 2007 - 10:59 in the P.M.

I'm both of your brothers. One of you after nearly two decades, the other after a half decade. I'm the lost half of yourselves that wish they'd dropped everything and run, while your half of me will spend the rest of his life feeling guilty about late bills, worrying about credit scores, and watching market numbers in the back of foolish magazines. You run into mothers at grocery stores who encourage you to change your life and make a break for it while you still can, but you know how I've struggled. I talk to the same mother on the phone who never lets me forget my financial faults. You know how little money I make and take comfort in the lives that business and banking afford you. When you hang up the phone I wonder if you think about how unlikely a pair we are. I wonder if you're glad that there are still ways that one of us encourages the other - how our ever-conflicting influences have taken root and grown us up and into each other.

Sincerely,
Previous & Next

p.s. The business man, the banker, and the childish chance-taker.