Carrier

Correspondent

Old Letters

New Letters

Sun. Aug. 17, 2008 - 12:01 in the P.M.

I spent the better part of the morning reading arguments online against monogamy and I've come to two conclusions. One, I don't think I've ever reached a point with a person - I've never been close enough or stable enough - at which I felt safe enough to even entertain this notion. Two, at this point, there's really only one person with whom I want to spend my life. There's only one body by which I compare everyone else. I'm miserable and in love. From my childish vantage point, someone in crazy love would have a difficult time entertaining other romantic relationships.

Laying on the lawn, thinking.

If you're in a relationship with someone with whom you aren't intimate sexually or otherwise and are reaching out and seeking other loves, you are still being monogamous. Since you're not fully engaged in a relationship with your primary partner, there's no one to be faithful to. You're your own and playing the field. The shut out person on the other end of that relationship is also effectively single, sexually faithful or not, and therefore also not being non-monogamous if they reach out to others.

Just thinking.

Sincerely,
Previous & Next

p.s. mono no aware