Carrier

Correspondent

Old Letters

New Letters

Sun. Mar. 19, 2006 - 4:47 in the P.M.

I'm having to relearn how everything seems to lose its sheen without the prospect of seeing you each day. Not that life becomes entirely unbearable, but that it just feels so much duller. My sentimentality finds itself in overdrive. Everything reminds me of something, the most minute details become tribute material. How maddening. I've been here not even two months, but it's as if my body has completely forgotten what it was like for the rest of the year - you've been trying to remind it and I'm trying my hardest to do so too. It seems that it's just as stubborn about being away from you as it was about getting close to you.

+++

When you're sitting in the car and all of California is passing you by, do you look out the window like in the movies and think about me? I imagine the signs of my favorite truck stops reflected in your big sunglasses and some soundtrack-worthy music playing in the rental car. Come to think of it, the whole bit could be a great, commonplace montage. My pacing the kitchen floor, sitting quietly at the bar, falling asleep on the couch in T.V. light; you in the car, sleeping in a hotel room, eating great food, talking to enthusiastic patrons behind your table at fashion show. What song should we pick? I'm listening to a fairly grandiose number by AM/FM right now. Lots of atmospheric noise, whispery vocals, and acoustic guitar. It'll do for now.

Sincerely,
Previous & Next

p.s. Getting Into Sinking