Carrier

Correspondent

Old Letters

New Letters

Sat. Aug. 12, 2006 - 2:16 in the P.M.

As of late I've been depending on you to such a degree that left alone this weekend, I'm starting to see fairly clearly what a stress I can be - what that kind of counting on can be like. Once upon a time I knew the feeling exactly. Somewhere it just must've slipped my mind.

+++

And though I'm so dependent in so many ways, my limited mobility has reminded me what independence and freedom of movement can do for you. I have to keep moving, counting time spent on chores. 20 minutes to clean the living room. 5 minutes to vacuum the carpet. 15 minutes to wash dishes. These become hash marks in my days, but never quite do the trick. Relegated to a few tens of square feet, I start to shut down and wait for days to pass and things to heal - watching the clock all along.

Sincerely,
Previous & Next

p.s. Seven more hours of daylight and counting.