Carrier

Correspondent

Old Letters

New Letters

Wed. Jan. 01, 2014 - 11:08 in the P.M.

I stayed up until 3 am to celebrate the new year alone. No midnight kiss. I decided in the smallest way to ring in the new year taking care of myself. This year must be different.

Rob Brezny agrees:

Would you be interested in a motto that will help set the tone for you in 2014? I've got a suggestion that's in alignment with the astrological omens. It's from a poem by Margaret Atwood. Try saying this and see if it works for you: "Last year I abstained / this year I devour / without guilt / which is also an art." If you choose to make this affirmation your own, be sure you don't forget about the fact that devouring without guilt is an *art* -- a skill that requires craft and sensitivity. You can't afford to get blindly instinctual and greedy in 2014; you shouldn't compulsively overcompensate for 2013's deprivations. Be cagey and discerning as you satisfy your voracious hunger.

Sincerely,
Previous & Next

p.s. My voracious hunger