Carrier

Correspondent

Old Letters

New Letters

Mon. May. 15, 2006 - 6:42 in the P.M.

So in a new chapter to what's shaping up to be a disgusting new hobby, self-analysis, I've started an audio diary in addition to this one and the various other "entries" I make that never get this far. It's only be going for a few days, but with the breakdown of a weekend I gave myself, it's already off to an interesting start. Today at work, with headphones blaring, I played back the weekend's entries. Beyond the simple fact that hearing your own voice is humbling, if not mildly terrifying, being able to hear your tone of voice is pretty eye-opening. These sharp glimpses at myself have already begun to cause a kind of fractal-patten to emerge. I make an entry, I listen back to it, I then make another entry referencing what I've been able to take away from the playback. It borders on the perverse and seems to be some sort of ultimate narcissism. Even still, I'm hoping that all this talking to and listening to myself will turn out to be something better - a way for me to hear how I sound and analyze it some before taking it up in conversation or correspondence - a way to get my thoughts organized before talking.

Sincerely,
Previous & Next

p.s. This (super boring) American Life