Carrier

Correspondent

Old Letters

New Letters

Wed. Mar. 08, 2006 - 8:09 in the P.M.

For you, I know that missing their visit would spell relief, a near miss. For me, their arrival could very well trigger some sort of panic that I might be marooned with - you all the way back down on the opposite end of this coast. I wonder if they would see me here, knowing I'm not doing too well, no job, few friends, lots of time alone, and to my face they'd again undermine my judgement. That's what family's for, right? Mom would ask about you like you were some injury I'd suffered. Like, "how's your knee doing? Any improvement?" I'd give curt answers, and count the minutes until they left for the airport. Alone again, my nerves would give way and I'd spend the rest of the week trying not to make 8-hour days out of trolling internet auctions for various junk, wondering what kind of people you were meeting, how much fun you were having, how much money you'd made, if you were wondering any of the same (save the last) about me. Possibly.

Sincerely,
Previous & Next

p.s. Calling for backup.